List of all the border posts South Africa is closing with tight security


South Africa is closing two-thirds of its border posts on land, and two out of eight sea ports will not be accepting passengers or allow vessel crews to rotate through, President Cyril Ramaphosa announced on Sunday night.

The closures are part of wide-ranging measures to slow the spread of SARS-CoV-2, the virus behind Covid-19, in South Africa.

People from high-risk countries will not be allowed into the country at all, and those from what are considered medium-risk countries will face extended health screenings.

Border posts with Lesotho, eSwatini, Mozambique, Zimbabwe, Botswana, and Namibia are affected.

Immigration remains open at all airports: OR Tambo in Johannesburg, Cape Town International, King Shaka in Durban.

These are all the South African border post that are being shut down because of the novel coronavirus.

The sea ports to be closed:

  • Mosselbay
  • Saldanha

Land-based border posts to be closed:

Namibia border

  • Alexanderbay
  • Onseepkans
  • Rietfontein
  • Sendelingsdrfit

Botswana border

  • Bray
  • Derdepoort
  • Gemsbok
  • McCarthys Rest
  • Middelputs
  • Mokopong
  • Mokgobistad
  • Platjan
  • Pondrift
  • Stockpoort
  • Swartkopfontein
  • Tweerivieren
  • Zanzibar

Mozambique border

  • Pafuri
  • Giriyondo
  • Kosibay

eSwatini (Swaziland) border

  • Bothashoop
  • Emahlatini
  • Josefsdal
  • Nerston
  • Onverwacht
  • Waverley

Lesotho border

  • Boesmansnek
  • Makhaleng Bridge
  • Mononstha Pass
  • Ongeluksnek
  • Pekabridge
  • Ramatsiliso
  • Sanipass
  • Sephaphus Gate
  • Tellebridge

0 thoughts on “List of all the border posts South Africa is closing with tight security”

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.